58° North Daily

By 58NorthPhoto

Wow

Tonight was definitely a wow night as the aurora put on an amazing display. I came home from work just after 10pm and as soon as I stepped out of the car I could see the green on the horizon, so I rushed into the house, wolfed my dinner down, grabbed the camera and spent the next couple of hours outside.

At first it was just bright green glow, filling so much of the sky, but with no movement but then it just went mad - huge green curtains pulsing across the sky and visible red parts - I didn't know which way to look! I honestly didn't think a display of this magnitude was possible at this latitude, it was just so wide and high. As you can probably tell I was quite amazed, spectacular stuff. Even better - the house in the photograph is my house - one for the wall!

More photographs here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.