Northern Exposure

By Northern

Another study in grey.

Wild winds have blown themselves out and now we are shrouded in mist... must be Summer. Like yesterday, this is a colour pic not b/w. All colour has been stripped out of the island.

Spotted a fleet of about 20 Eider ducks down at the shore. No idea what they were up to. Looked like a pretty serious get together. Dashed home for the camera but by the time I got back (all of 5 minutes later) they had vanished.

At this point in the island the road is pretty much the only thing that divides the sea from Echnaloch. The causeway it runs over is natural, although there is a tale that it was built by a troll who waylaid passersby, robbed them and had them for dinner.

Having no luck with the vanishing eiders, I crossed the road to see if I could find anything in the loch. I practically tripped over this duck and her ducklings. They splashed off into the reeds and I just avoided landing face first in a patch of nettles and thistles. I tried to get a pic of them as they headed off but due to unstable footing, fast moving ducks, water and mist, this was the closest I managed to get to an infocus pic.

Come to think of it, maybe the troll story explains the vanishing eider mob...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.