Come into the Garden

By aprecious

Work Wednesday

Okay - last week it was a Thursday but maybe a Wednesday would be better to do what I think will be my weekly work update. Maybe. It's has a nice alliterative feel anyway.

So, this week I have done a lot already - a funding bid, spoken to two trainees for two hours about what my work is (& they survived!), talked to some council officers from Culture about my plans and ambitions ("There is a developing narrative here Mandy"), prepared - and lost and re-prepared a power point around a piece of research about parental engagement - one of two pieces of work that add to unrestricted funds that I am doing with the bridge organisation. This is where I prostitute my talents to bring in some money. This is slightly disingenuous because I do really enjoy this and it gets me out of the office. I've written a blog post about the parental engagement too...

I delivered the power point this morning at a conference on family learning (mad woman at loose in Z-Arts), then this afternoon I went off to a meeting with the CEO of the Factory Youth Zone to talk to them about the development of a high quality youth theatre offer (the other bit of consultation.) This picture is of the Manchester Youth Zone building - I think it's a great place. Apparently the kids call it the fish finger building. I wonder why?

Also this week I've had a full team meeting, an arts team meeting, answered and written countless emails, and now I am writing one of seven major project plans around advocacy and support from the wider population. I have half completed someone's appraisal (sorry Rachael) and spoken to a member of staff about a couple of issues. I have decided to move our dance sessions. I have chased up some work that hasn't appeared on my desk. I have encouraged the completion of a bid to another trust by one of the team. I've contacted a parent about meeting me for a chat re the aforementioned research. I've set in motion the groundwork for a mad gala event next year and I've invited 10 of my most favourite and cuddly artists to suggest ways they can use our new space to deliver work outside of our charitable objectives with a negotiation on how they pay for the use of space. I've encourage a few schools to buy in our great piece 'The adventures of Stamp girl." in anti-bullying week, and sent out details of a visiting piece of theatre, "Guantanamo Boy", by half moon and brolly productions (it's ace!) coming in November. And I've sorted out the content of a training event for the staff team on 31st October. Oh yes, I also contacted a fundraiser to deliver some training to a consortia of organisations.... and I've probably done some other stuff I can't now remember.

And yesterday I actually forgot to eat my lunch. I have never forgotten to eat my lunch. That's like forgetting to breathe isn't it???? I blame the council people who turned up early and took me by surprise.


I plan to watch a bit of telly tonight on iPlayer (the bake off) and I plan to catch up with your journals then, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.