Jambo journal

By IainC

Quiet Time

I think I like the Kocatepe Mosque best of the few that I've visited. It's not over the top and gilded to death and is really peaceful, though that may not be the case with 12,500 people inside.

Have been the dutiful tourist again today. After Kocatepe I headed off to Anitkabir which is the memorial to & mausoleum of Ataturk. It also houses the Museum of Independence which was really interesting, especially as I knew next to nothing about the Turkish fight for independence. I know slightly more now! There was an exhibit about the Gallipoli landings which just reinforced my never-ending amazement that my grandad came home from there in one piece.

I had another great lunch (pastries, biscuits and coffee this time) but then there was a major disappointment because the Open-Air Locomotive Museum has closed. I had really wanted to see that one! Then a walk through a park and a short trip on the Metro; the ticket I bought yesterday worked again so I wonder how many trips I actually bought?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.