Lower Kilcott valley

I managed to get to the camera equipment shop in Bristol today, and enjoyed the last of the warmer weather in the process. The sun was shining intermittently as I drove down the old route towards Bath and then along the M4 and into the centre of the city. It only takes about forty minutes even driving quite slowly and the scenery never fails to please me.

I had a quick perusal of the gear I was interested in and then picked the brains of a couple of very helpful assistants before comparing two 50mm lenses. In the end I plumped for a direct replacement for my broken cheap and cheerful 'nifty fifty' f1.8 rather than the f1.4 at five times the price. I could imagine it was five times better. I also bought a wireless transmitter and receiver to fire my flash and looked at the much more expensive Pocket wizard range, which are beyond my immediate needs.

I was give prices on a range of other goodies, but they will have to wait and I will check if I can get alternatives more cheaply. But Calumet give very good service without being at all pushy, which is a trait that repels me, so they got some of my money.

Before going home I visited my old friend Pip, who took a two hour lunch break with me and cooked me a delightful meal. He is editing a novel of a new acquaintance and hopefully he will get more work of that ilk in the local area after making good contacts in the local writing world.

I drove home the same way up the A46, but decided to take a country lane at one point to Kilcott as the sun popped out from the now scudding clouds bringing the forecast cool air from the north. The road dropped straight down from the top of the escarpment which the A46 follows all the way along the Cotswolds. By turning westwards it follows a small valley that cuts down towards the River Severn and the Severn Vale. I love these tiny valleys etched out by small streams and this was one I had visited once before. As soon as we dropped down from the arable lands on the tops, the woodland took over and I could hear the sound of many pheasants long before I could see them. This area is a prime shooting location for pheasants and I could tell that the season hasn't started yet by their prevalence and lack of fear as they strutted about the hedgerows and even in the lanes.

When I saw this old house I pulled into a field entrance and crossed the road. I love this type of view which is typical of part of our local countryside. When I passed further down the road after taking this picture, I went between the house and grassy knoll where the sheep are grazing. I noticed that the small black plaque just below the roof of the house said 'AD1782'. I will probably come back with Woodpeckers later in this winter season for a longer walk. I want to have another look at Curtin Mill and its pond at the bottom of the valley.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.