Celebrating the Lives of Older People

A glorious, thought provoking drawing project by Malka Schotten which is at the Forum in Norwich from 7th - 25th October.

I came across it purely by chance yesterday evening, whilst hanging about between finishing work and going to a meeting. I didn't have much time - just enough to pick up a copy of the booklet which accompanies the exhibition. It's a wonderful read, featuring biogs and quotes from several of her sitters, all aged over 65.

The full title of the project is 'I'm Not Dead Yet: Celebrating the Lives of Older People'. Here are a few of the quotes from some of the sitters:

I would like to die with the husband of a beautiful woman running after me with a shotgun.

Whether there is Hell or not it is better to do well to others in this life. If you do your best you can do no more and so you will be at peace with your surroundings.

I didn't do much until I was 40. I was just a normal housewife .... and then I went berserk! You can't believe it sometimes when you think about it .... I'm a recycled teenager!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.