Just add Water

We shall see if any more will be added to the ouzelette; today I went and deflated it and carted it off homewards. There's a yard clean-up work party on Saturday (which sadly, I'll have to miss) and if I left it, that Harbour Sec would stab it with his pitchfork, I'm sure. He doesn't care for things which clutter his yard.
Bloody cold north wind. In the morning I sat out awhile beside the canal with the old dear. I'd had to ferret in her drawer to find warm socks and pull them on over her swollen feet. She could do with a woolly hat though. The socks wouldn't fit that.
And after that, who did appear but her cousin John! I used to adore him when I was a nipper - he was (and is) 16 years older than me. Hadn't seen him since Dad's funeral 15 years ago this month. Jings, eh? I thought he looked a bit older.
Luckily, I'm just the same.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.