Plus ça change...

By SooB

Cake

A day of baking. Well, after some morning admin (Word is somehow not working on my 'new' computer, so I had to download and figure out a free word processing programme to do something a bit urgent) it was shopping for baking, and then baking.

I've meant for a while to invite round for afternoon tea the lady who used to help TallGirl with her french when we were first here. Finally - with the reason that CarbBoy now needs a bit of a hand - I got around to it. Lovely to see her again and we chatted and got caught up over finger sandwiches (the kids pretended like we have tiny sandwiches with the crusts cut off all the time....) fresh scones, shortbread, chocolate filled swiss roll and - of course - battenburg. Tea, it turned out, rolled right on into dinner - seeing as she didn't leave until 7pm - having been treated to CarbBoy's growing bike confidence (doing tricks already) and many bits of gossip that we forgot to exchange until we were out at the car.

A marked downturn in the weather tonight - temperature-wise - and I was chilly out there. Must be time to put a scarf on, and then take it off in February. And tonight, horrifyingly, TallGirl insisted I help her with her Spanish homework. When I cried 'not fair' she snarkily replied that it wasn't as if I could help her with her French homework so it was indeed fair. I have no room in my head for another language. After a whole two and half hours speaking french with our friend, I'm done in and can barely gabble in english, never mind spanish.

Ah well, enough gabbling. There's that baking show to catch up on...

(The battenburg, by the way, is delicious - despite my fears that I'd overcooked it.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.