Mikey88

By Mikey88

Cobweb

A lot of photography today. I went out quite early for a walk around the river and got lots of shots of backlit cobwebs and sedge. The cold night meant there was lots of dew and as the sun rose higher and began to shine on the reedbeds, mist started rising, giving a background to some of the shots.

After walking all the way round, I went into Plymouth to go to the bank. My local branch of Lloyds has turned into TSB, so the convenience of easy access to a bank has gone and it is now a minimum twelve miles to get to a branch.

Anyway, moan over, I drove back to the river and had a cup of tea and a piece of victoria sponge at the cafe and then went back to taking pictures. For my sixtieth birthday, my family bought me a one-man hide. I've only used it about three times, as the last time I used it, I kept my knee in one position for so long, it caused problems and I couldn't walk properly for a month.

Anyway, I had another go. I set it up looking over the estuary mud and as the tide dropped, black headed gulls began to appear, eventually feeding within about twenty yards. I didn't think anything else would come, but suddenly there was a curlew on the opposite side. To my delight, it flew over and came to within twenty yards of the hide, giving me some good shots - and the knee was fine.

When all the wintering birds arrive, I should get some useful pictures with a bit of luck.

It was a much colder day today and this evening was even colder. I took my daughter to her ballet lesson and the ice warning came on at one point on the journey home. Also, when we got in, the heating had switched itself on - Autumn is definitely here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.