Davince net

By Davince

D'oh! Oh dear, a female deer...

Long time no post. Mostly because life is so hectic recently that any shots I do take, by the time I could post them, are several days old, and I can't be bothered with that lol.

For the last 3 months we've had an almost daily visit from a doe and fawn to our garden. Doesn't sound too amazing, till you consider I live in the middle of Southampton. You get lots of city foxes, not that many city deer!

They've eaten almost the entire garden. Fortunately most of the garden is a building site so I'm not overly concerned, though the doe is now looking quite plump and about ready for the pot! They're back again today, they've been there since 10 and don't seem in a rush to leave.

Each time they come round, I make sure I go outside and move around a bit, wave at them, get a little closer, familiarise them to me. Seems to be working, this shot she was about 10 ft from me. Looked nervous, but stayed put - 3 months ago just opening the door caused them to scarper, so I think that's progress.

I reckon another few months and I may be able to get within arms length. Then all I have to decide is if I'm going to feed her some deer pellets or feed my family some deer :P

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.