Tangier re-invents itself

Would the young man carrying a plastic bag approach me as I sat alone on an almost empty beach in Tangiers this afternoon ( in search of a blip pic).

He hesitated, decided I was not cannabis material, and moved on.
Earlier I had watched two policemen on horseback go up to another young man with a pink plastic bag , dismount from their horses, and order him to empty the contents on to the beach.

For Tangiers has re-invented itself from its seedy, raffish past acquired after World War 2 when it attracted eccentric foreigners, artists, writers, spies and hippies.

The city fell into neglect but ten years ago it began a massive programme of building and regeneration.
Today it's sparkling clean, modern and international but bits of old Tangier still seep through.
We smelt cannabis coming from the next cafe where we stopped for lunch.
Sent from my iPhone

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.