A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Happy day

I have been wanting to meet Katherine Grainger for years but never managed to do so. One time she was going to come to our boat club annual dinner and speak but that was the year it snowed really badly and so she couldn't make it. My partner and I won crew of the year too and she would have presented us with the prize, how cool would that have been?!

Anyway, a signing of her new autobiography (she really wrote it herself whilst also completing her pHd) at Waterstones presented me with an opportunity. It was really fascinating to hear her speak about the Olympics, THAT gold medal (see photo above!) and writing the book among other things.

She comes across just exactly as you would expect her to from seeing her on TV and was absolutely lovely. She was still chirpy when we got to the front of the queue, even though it was ages. Very gracious of her to stoop down a little so I don't look so short. :-D

I am still very starstruck although I won't read the book straight away as I am still rather traumatised by the sale of my boat. Although it is up for a writing award (is there anything she isn't brilliant at?).

:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.