Dotty

By Dotty

Day 22 - Sober for October

Yesterday went really well: thank you so much for all the good wishes. Everyone at the hospital was so kind and reassuring. I really do wonder about America and the love of guns over health and well-being. I know it can't be as simple as that, but actually I do think that life can be as simple and beautiful as you want to make it.

Anyway: we made it! I hadn't anticipated driving for 4+ hours immediately after a diuretic, but luckily our drive took us past plenty of forests! We stopped off at The Angel of The North, which photobombed us, and then whacked down in time for our first paddle! And I managed to embarrass Teddy by running into the sea in just my knickers and a coat.

Layla & co (blipfoto/khoola) joined us later - taking almost as long to drive from within the same county as we did another country. Cousins, 2nd cousins, dogs and the poor ever-understanding and beloved Mr had the best ever evening.

Sleep was fitful: a storm raged until 3am and then the mice started their party. My careful food packing was pointless: Sainsburys beckons!

I'm not sure if this link will work - maybe someone kind with a laptop and stable wifi could link to the instagram picture: but it's my absolute favourite of me and my fab boys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.