Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

A Bowl in the making.

This is my other hobby!

My Brother has asked me to turn him a bowl for salads etc. The wood is Elm.
The 'blank' size is 30cm diameter and the thickness 10cm. It is secured onto the lathe by means of a screw in chuck. One can see the motor the other side of the bowl.
The part of the bowl you see will be the outside, to make it more interesting I have turned in some grooves and rounded the outside edge.

There is a lot more work on the bowl yet, I will have to sand it, going through all the grades of sandpaper to achieve a super smooth surface and also bring out the grain pattern, then I will treat the bowl with a food sealant to prevent food becoming contaminated, before I turn it round on the chuck to create the bowl itself.

One can see the grain pattern already in the unfinished state. When I have completed the bowl I will take another picture of it.

Please enjoy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.