Marlytyz

By Marlytyz

Man with Falcon

Driving home from Teignmouth, a typical Devon seaside town, I stopped at a beauty spot along the coast road to take some photos. You can imagine how thrilled I was to see a man with his falcon (I think it was a falcon but I am not good on birds) in the field overlooking the sea. Luckily, I had changed my prime lens and replaced it with my 55 - 200m zoom as he was a fair distance away. I must admit, I could have done with a 300m to capture the detail and improve the sharpness but one of the problems I am finding with photography is that so much is spur of the moment and you have to do the best you can with what you have available.
It was funny to see the strong relationship this man clearly had with this bird, very much like a master/dog relationship. For some while it appeared the bird had the upper hand as he refused to listen to any of the calls or enticements. When he finally flew towards the man, they both appeared to be joyous or maybe I am just fantasising. Anyway, it was a delightful experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.