mcgoobs

By mcgoobs

Campus Walkabout

This post officially marks one year of PhotoSoc and what a year it's been! Having avoided societies until my final year I owe Andy a great debt in his relentless recruiting of me to the cause - if I hadn't been persuaded to come along the final year of my degree would have been very different indeed, and I wouldn't have met all the amazing people that I have done. Life is funny sometimes. I need to use this as a reminder to grab life by the horns a bit more - it's so easy to let opportunities pass by because we're too worried about looking silly, or not liking something, or everything going tits up. Most of the time, if you get stuck in, take a chance or just try something it all works out just fine.

My understanding of photography has also improved, although, funny enough, I think I've gained more in friendship and life experience than I have photographic knowledge in joining the society. And that's fine by me. Photography is certainly a journey I'd like to continue with, slowly and gradually, but in terms of social experience I feel like I've formed relationships with people in the last year that are stronger than the year that's made them and that I hope last well into the future. There are also people who I'm looking forward to getting to know better this year too, which is great.

Anyway, enough ruminating. Here is a picture of the Maths & Stats pond looking all autumnal and stuff, which is one of the only ok photos I took today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.