Sleepy Cherryblossom

By CherryBee

Hospital.

Couldn't stand up this morning, legs keep giving way, shivering, shaking, vomiting, temperature sky high, unbelievable headache, hands and feet and tongue (?!) all swollen up, all over deep red rash, coughing, can't swallow, can't catch my breath.

Claire took one look at me and started calling round to get a doctor out, when we finally got one round (not easy, my practice didn't want to come to Viewforth, her practice didn't want to know!) he said it would be best if I was admitted to hospital. My blood pressure was really low but my heart was racing, temp really high, crackle in my chest, could hardly sit up on the sofa.

An ambulance came and I was admitted to the Western General at 5pm, loads of tests and fluids and oxygen and lying on a trolley panting. I was given a room (possible Infectious Disease means I get a room to myself!) around 11.30pm with no more idea of what was wrong.
Official diagnosis - "raging infection". And "don't worry, you aren't going to die or anything". That's good then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.