Kendall is here

By kendallishere

He has a right to dream too.

Meet the adorable two-month-old baby of a formerly-unhoused couple, made homeless when the baby's father lost his job. The wonderful news is that as the economic recovery continues to grow, his dad got his old job back, and the family now has a secure place to live. Indoors. The baby slept through the celebration of the second birthday of Right to Dream Too, a campground smack in the center of Portland, established by unhoused people, governed by unhoused people, providing shelter for up to 100 people a night for $1 each. The City of Portland has been trying for the entire two years to get rid of R2D2, and the city recently promised the camp a commodious space under the Broadway Bridge, near where I live. But the Pearl District Neighborhood Association, representing area businesses, says, "Not in my neighborhood!"

So while lawyers and city council people dither and argue, R2D2 continues to stand where it has always been.

Today was glorious. I had the pleasure of seeing some of my old friends from the Occupy Movement, as well as many of those I've met since I joined the campaign to pass the Homeless Bill of Rights. I used Giacomo's little camera for all my shots of the celebration, and I think I'm beginning to get the hang of it. If you'd like to see them, have a look here.  I'm working on a project and cannot respond to comments right now, but if you feel the need to comment, you can send an email to the Pearl District Neighborhood Association, telling them that they have a wonderful opportunity to practice compassion and to become part of the solution for unhoused people by welcoming R2D2.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.