Day Today

By Feathers14

The Boys Are Back In Town

Today's Uganthem is the most applicable song in the world....

-------------

TL;DR - The picture above is 4 very good reasons to go on this African Field Course module. Colin is the only reason that's staying, but the other 3 - Shree, Axel and Matt; left to right - are highly indicative of what you will encounter. Super sound people who will be friends for life. Standard day but an awesome BBQ and then a great leaving party at Judith's bar to celebrate the end of the project. Celebrate isn't quite the right word, but all good things must come to an end...... I think this TL;DR needs its own TL;DR

------------

Today I was the first one awake despite having gone out last night - Classic Longtail - so I made my way down to the breakfast table and set myself up, doing a bit of Internet-y stuff. I found out that another friend also received some good news last week too, so that makes 3.

The rest of today was not massively arduous, we did some of the write-up in the morning (I would later then go on to lose this work as my laptop got stolen. See here for more details) and then back to Dutchess for another business lunch. I felt like an intruder at lunch because I was riding shotgun with another hydro group; no one in my group wanted to go.

Back at the hostel there was a little bit of logistics and some more work, but it really wasn't that productive. If I'm trying to be productive and I'm not, it frustrates me. If I've made a decision not to be productive then I can switch off and enjoy myself.

What was incredibly tantalising was that throughout the day Florence, the resident chef at Y.E.S Hostel, was preparing a BBQ feast for us featuring all kinds of delectables. It was a fantastic BBQ and a nice way to round off the 3 weeks of work, having a big family meal. I love big meals with lots of people there, there's nothing quite like it and it doesn't happen nearly often enough.

Judith's Bar. What a place. I've said it before the flash photography scares me, so shooting a whole night was, erm, interesting. I decided to make things easy on myself though and shoot totally manual focus {/sarcasm}. Fortunately most of them turned out well, and it was a great reminder of why I love external flashguns because the lighting is just so goddamn nice! Looking back through the photos I was annoyed to see just how many people in our group were very photogenic. Doesn't seem fair. It was an evening of ices, drinks, music and good times. There's not really much else that you need, to be honest. I loved every second of it.

What a bloody great night.

----------------

This picture will serve to always remind me of the PIMP time that we had in Uganda. It's probably not technically correct (I think there's still a tad too much red causing the skins to come out a lil pink) but I'm not bothered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.