Pisky29

By Pisky29

Fairy Funghi

A ring of toadstools has appeared in my garden.

I admit my lawns are more moss than grass, so seeing dodgy funghi appearing in various places is perhaps not surprising.

However the circular nature of this crop of gnome-chairs intrigues, as does all the folklore around such 'Fairy Rings'. My BlipName is the Cornish type of pixiedom, so my natural inclination is to respect, observe and possibly report further.

(and for good measure, here is a traditional Scottish rhyme which sums up the danger of such places):

He wha tills the fairies' green
Nae luck again shall hae :
And he wha spills the fairies' ring
Betide him want and wae.
For weirdless days and weary nights
Are his till his deein' day.
But he wha gaes by the fairy ring,
Nae dule nor pine shall see,
And he wha cleans the fairy ring
An easy death shall dee

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.