CafeMistblick

By CafeMistblick

Why not

My bees seemed to be(e) busy elsewhere on this wonderful sunny & relatively warm day. So this intruder was welcome to steal what it could.

Today I took out the last of the sugar paste & solution and reduced the hives down to one layer each. Will be interesting to see how they fare this winter, having three very different hives. From my novice view I would say:
The offspring hive seems to me to be undermanned.
The middle hive to be well stocked with a bit of room to do some work in October.
The third hive looks over populated and bursting at the seams. If it was spring or summer, I would expect them to swarm out.

Now it's down to the weather - a local guru says a mildish winter with spell of snow over Christmas and then in February but alarmingly another one at Easter which is late next year. Let's hope for the best. Not sure if I mentioned it but saw a report that the UK lost about one third of it's bees this year due to the cold spring/early summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.