wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Challenge

Leavenworth Day 2:

This was a day of new things. We started out by going on the ropes course at the camp, which I wibbled my way across, and then the giant swing, which I yeehaaaaaaa'd my way through. The object of the day was actually to go rock climbing.

I'm not a good rock climber - I've only been outside on real rocks a couple of times, and I warned Nellie that she had to be nice and wasn't allowed to laugh too hard at me. A friend of hers came along too, which was good because they could set up the routes without me having to nervously keep Nellie alive while not entirely sure I knew what I was doing. They set up an 'easy' route for me, which I managed without tooooooooo many 'ahhh, I'm stuck!'s. Then came a harder one, which I almost didn't get to the top of. But after pausing halfway through because I just couldn't see where to go, I made my new goal to just reach a little bunch of flowers and pick up. I made that, then got stuck, Nellie told me to give it just another go, I did, and I succeeded! I made it to the top! I was pretty excited. My hands were a bit sore, my legs are covered in bruises, but I made it.

After that I gave the good climbers a chance to get some good climbing in. I scrambled up the bank, and started click clicking away. And here you see Nellie halfway up this particular route.

We ended up with hot drinks and a wander around Leavenworth, but it was dark and everything was closing. So we went back to her house for dinner, and spent the evening discussing the social welfare of our respective countries while her cat swapped between us to get the most attention.

Good day. Tiring. But good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.