FortyTwo

By 42

Reading

Two-thousand two-hundred and forty-nine blips in and I do wonder quite frequently what I'm still doing here.

But then I get to record an evening like tonight when Miss42 just 'got' reading.

Don't get me wrong; she's not reading any books yet, but we've been playing with spelling and sounding words/letters for a couple of weeks and tonight in the bath she sounded/read loads of three letter words. We had:

sat
sit
cat
mat
pat
bat
dog
map
dad
mum

and she had a good go at 'zoo' (once I explained the 'oo' sound) and then 'room' and 'broom' - no prizes for guessing where she got those from.

The best thing about it all was the look of sheer delight on her face when she realised that she could decode the letters into words.

Brilliant!

And now blip will help me remember it forever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.