Calmer

11.8C with grey cloud and one or two light showers. Light breeze.

Dull and grey today. Maeve the Deerhound and I went for our walk after lunch. The tide was a bit further out today and the sea was much calmer than yesterday. Only a few waves were coming in over the rocks.

To get this blip I dropped Maeve's lead over her back so I would have two hands free and could concentrate. I often do that and she just stands still. Next thing I knew the bold Maeve was wading straight out into the sea. I'm not sure which of us was the most surprised. Probably Maeve when she realised she was about 25 metres out and the water was touching her tummy.

I called her back quickly and thankfully she came before her lead was soaking. I took her lead off and, as you might imagine, any desire to go back into the water was gone. As we walked along towards the Fishermen's huts she did no more than put a paw in the edge of the water although there was some high spirited skipping and running between the piles of seaweed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.