Geek day

Spent the majority of the last two days working with spreadsheets. I'm currently organising a big party to celebrate twenty five years of Wellcome Trust Advanced Courses, hopefully will have a couple of hundred attending. Have a band booked, menu looks ok, wine and beer for the evening, champagne for the speeches and presents ordered, special mugs for everyone and celebratory hampers for the 'special' people. Dance floor organised, poster boards ditto. Balloons to be ordered. The spreadsheets are my way if preparing info the big bosses speech so far I have updated number of overall participants which is 4152 from 116 different countries. Other info I'm collating is participants who have become instructors or speakers or one of the great and good in the world of science. Then number of courses taught by each instructor some have worked on over twenty courses. There is a big world map which needs updating outside my office which shows where participants have come from and the countries we have taught in. Off the top of my head other than here in Hinxton they are: Brazil Mexico Uruguay USA Dubai South Africa Costa Rica Malawi Uganda Japan Vietnam Thailand Kenya I've been lucky enough to go to Mexico and Uruguay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.