The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Yellow stag horn fungus

Firstly I need to apologise for my recent lack of commenting / answering comments. I am so sorry, but I have just been really busy or really tired or both!! I promise I will get round to catching up with my comments ASAP!!!
I went to the woods again today after work, but this time to a different end of the woods locally know as Leechpool woods, which is about a mile from Roost hole, and less heathland and more ancient broad-leafed woodland.
I was really pleased to see huge quantities of sweet chestnuts all over the forest floor and will be going back this weekend to play 'Hunt the chestnuts' with my grandchildren, followed by roasting them on the barbecue .. yum yum!!!
Part of this bit of the woodland is really good for Yellow stag horn fungus Calocera viscosa, and this year was even better than usual, with all the fallen logs sprouting a beautiful yellow forest to a greater or lesser extent.
I like this fungus, it is common, but always nice to find, something which for me is one of the defining sights of autumn!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.