AdamDC15

By AdamDC15

First morning in Puerto Varas

I apologise to those people who make a habit of reading this blog for falling behind, since I arrived here I haven't had my usual block of free time I'd normally be doing this in. This picture is immediately after I was dropped off by the minibus in Puerto Varas, can't have been long after 7am and the sun was barely up. I'd come into Puerto Montt (half an hour to the south) in the dark of night, but just close enough to sunrise that looking out of the bus terminal over the bay I could begin to see the Pacific stretching out to the south. This day, however, was spent napping on the hostel's couch before I could go into my room, where I immediately befriended a lovely Canadian flight attendant called Meaghan. We went down to the lake where things were still not clear but LESS grey and I got very excited for having finally realised my dream. We then literally skipped back along the pier in joy and got breakfast until I met my manager, Ken. A lot of meetings that day, Ken brought along his Chilean girlfriend Jenny who immediately introduced me to their friends Francisco and Eta, with whom I went CLOTHES SHOPPING, for... reasons, i imagine. Until we eventually ended back up at Ken's place where I had my first experience chopping wood and being made dinner. Finally ended the day wandering back to the hostel in late evening just in time to catch Looper playing in the hostel before I FINALLY collapsed into bed.

I'm aware this blip is literally just me listing things, but there's a lot happening, you know? Surprisingly hard to keep track.

ALSO, Ken and Jenny have the best stray-dog-take-in ever, literally the cutest and loveliest little thing on the planet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.