Jeb's friends

After a quiet day with both children off school I went into town to meet with a small group of Jeb's friends, our friend Jeb passed away unexpectedly about a month ago and hit us all very hard.
Ash on the left is a film maker who I dimly remember meeting in the 90s, Kevin (in the pale blue trousers who started Singers Club with Jeb I know very well as we saw each other every week at least once at the club for a couple of years, Sammy (the lady) I met several times in the 90s when Jeb lived on Charing Cross Road and Ollie I have never met but have heard lots about over the years.
We met for coffee on Shaftesbury Avenue to discuss putting on an event to celebrate Jeb's life here in London, he owned a nightclub in LA and they had a memorial and a big party but we feel the need to mark his passing over here.
We have set a date, January the 27th and all have roles to play in making the night happen and another follow up date to meet.
It was a wonderful evening, we all had stories to share of our wonderful friend, there were tears and laughter, we went to The Arts Club on Frith Street and raised a toast to Jeb, this is the club that Kevin and Jeb and many of our performer friends used to go in the 80s, there was a piano and performers and musicians would come and sing and jam down here and it''s what gave Jeb and Kevin the idea to start the Singers Club so it was a fitting place to reminisce. After saying goodbye the the men, Sammy and I walked to Leiecester Square Tube and I popped up to her flat to use the bathroom and she invited me to see her garden, the whole roof of the building is an amazing communal space full of plants and places to sit and little sheds with amazing views of the London Eye, the Shard and the City rooftops, what a great location, I'm looking forward to seeing more of her and visiting the garden in the daylight.
It was wonderful to meet with everyone, although Kevin was the only person in the group that I had really known previously, I felt very comfortable with everyone and it was like meeting old friends, thankyou Jeb, still influencing my life for the better xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.