What Do I See

By MatthewHicks

Opportunity Knocks

I decided to go into Oxford this evening to meet with some brewing friends.

I noticed that the International Space Station was travelling overhead this evening too. It was at 7.22pm, and the sky was clear. My tripod was in the car, so why not see if I could get a picture of it going over.

I tried to figure out where it would traverse across the sky, and after a couple of false starts picked a spot. I guessed low, it was much higher in the sky than I expected so I had to reposition very quickly and hope for the best.

The faint line in the sky, pretty much top middle of the picture is the ISS passing over Oxford.

I was quizzed by a couple of Japanese students who were curious as to what I was photographing, and when I explained they were amazed they could see it, and that 6 people were up there looking down on them. I then chatted with a young Canadian student who was out photographing too. A very pleasant way to start the evening.

Any other blippers likely to be at the RAF Northolt night shoot tomorrow?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.