Scribbler

By scribbler

Half Nelson

George and Anne at the Dishman Community Center front desk.

COMFORTING is the challenge topic.


No matter what goes wrong, there's nothing like water therapy to make it better. It's so comforting to stride or glide down the lanes of Dishman pool, no matter whether I get there at six in the morning (only once!) or two in the afternoon (today). It has been a trying couple of days, and I felt much better when I was done exercising.

The other comforting part of this pool is its community, which includes the people on the staff. Anne is a young mother. We were thrilled when she returned from maternity leave because everything works more smoothly when Anne takes care of it. She has a brilliant smile and a great sense of humor. We always greet each other with laughter.

Anne was going to be my blip, but when I emerged from the locker room there was a big crowd of African-American men gathered around the front desk. I walked behind them, thinking it would be a great shot if I had them in the foreground and Anne laughing in the background. They were all having a good laugh.

The minute they saw me taking pictures, they split! I couldn't believe how fast they disappeared. Guys, I'm not the popo! And George, who works at the front desk, was hiding behind his computer! I finally coaxed him halfway out after Anne reassured him and told him about other people I'd blipped at Dishman.

This was a hilarious moment in a tedious day, and I found it quite comforting.

(A one-snap blip. Cropped, iPhoto Antique #1)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.