Good Morning!

Niagara Health Systems, St.Catharines Site, St.Catharines, Ontario

The smallest act of kindness is worth more than the grandest intention. - Oscar Wilde

I was called to come and assisted with a client that was going to the emergency and I am still here. I think it's my welcome back to work initiation. It's also like a homecoming when I visit the hospital, I swear, I think I know everyone that works on Emergency, mental health, addictions, X-ray, and plastic surgery Units. Sometimes it has it's advantages, I do get the run of the hospital. For example: they help out with the client if I need a coffee or a break ( I do ask the nurses on duty if they would like anything, just the right thing to do),they make sure that everything is taking care of, this time I even got my own bed beside the client instead of sleeping in a chair. It not because I am special, it is because I treat the hospital staff like my coworkers, and I understand what is like to work in a hight risk unit like emergency, anything can happen and hell I might need their assistance if I am alone.

I'm tired but I have the best rapport with the client so, it's best I stay till the end. This client can be extremely verbal , environmentally, and physically aggressive but, for some reason they aren't aggressive with me (well I lie but I can manage them with my tone of voice instead of physical redirection). It is usually takes two staff to manage them when they are aggressive.

After Thought:

I even caught a spider right between the light post and the van . Now if I would have noticed that I think I would have screamed at the time, as my face was pretty close to that thing. I did have the Client with me so I guess it wouldn't have been professional to just randomly scream(who am I kidding I can be loud and a lot of the clients actually laugh at me because of this, heres hoping it is in a good way). But, I guess taking pictures while in a hospital setting with a client is not very professional either . Even so, they know I love to take pictures so it should be okay right ;).

I think they find me very entertaining most of the time because I treat them like a regular human being and not really like clients. This is why I have a great rapport with most of them. Laughter(Okay Silliness) is always the best medicine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.