Day 4

Scottish Parliament - I think the boys were more excited with the major security checks than the Andy Warhol exhibition. It's a cool exhibition though. Worth a trip. Unfortunately we couldn't see the debating chamber because the Carnegie Philanthropy Medal was being awarded (there were a lot of rich Americans about the place!)

Edinburgh Museum - This place is deceptively massive given the wee street frontage. Great building, lots of interesting stuff but the boys just whizzed around until they got to the dressing up room. They were schoolboys, gentlemen, servants and scallywags.

City Art Gallery - The Lion King stage play exhibition. The costumes are truly fabulous. I felt a small pang that my life doesn't involve doing something as creative, arty and free as costume design. Ach, well.

Fruitmarket Gallery - Great circly exhibition. The best bit was going up and down in the lift though. Hubby and the boys took the lift first while I wandered in the shop. They came to get me afterwards but wouldn't tell me why we had to go up and down in the lift. I'm not going to give it away, you'll just have to try it. All I'll say is that the girl in the top gallery must be sick of the lift arriving full of giggling idiots who don't bother getting out but just go back down again!

Museum on the Mound - The boys and I had visited before but it was a first for hubby. He seemed to enjoy it and his eyes did go quite saucer-ish when he saw a million pounds.

Back to the car in the pouring rain.

Next time we're in Edinburgh it'll be to see The Lion King at The Playhouse. Cannot wait :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.