zebra

By zebra

Bird at dawn

Magic! Spiritual! Rewarding! Inspiring!

I sacrificed my morning jog. I left my room at about 5:15 and, together with torch [flashlight] I made my way down to Lake Victoria here in Entebbe, Uganda.

And then I waited...and waited...and waited. I guess I went a bit too early. I squatted, stood, and basically waited for this small sliver of grey to turn into something. I had enormously high expectations. I then saw a few fishermen slipping through the water unnoticed. They landed near me and threw their nets into the darkness.

Gradually the sun started to come up. I took many photos and, as I did not have a tri-pod, I used the 'do not bathe in the lake' sign to steady my camera. The fishermen were the first target of my shots. They didn't seem to mind.

But then the sun became brighter and the colours changed and I started moving around and the wildlife started waking up and flying about. It was a whole symphony of light, colour, shapes, movement and I was sitting in the front row. I have not had such a marvelous experience for a long time.

And here is the pick of the day although I still struggle and almost put this one morning dip

And now I find myself back in the meeting and trying to focus...

Have a great weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.