Treegonk

By treegonk

Some animals are more equal than others

I came across an abandoned farm on a road to nowhere.

I pulled up to have a look around and a shadow appeared in my mirror. All of a sudden, a rough looking man was standing by the car door. I wound down the window and he asked what I was doing there, showing only two front teeth and smoking a roll-up. I said I was just taking some photos and he grunted that he was suspicious because there had recently been some people around stealing metal for scrap and scaring the sheep. (?!)

He turned out to be quite friendly (I think!) and told me about the place - it had been a piggery, which was now abandoned, and he used to work there. When the business shut down he had stayed and made his home in a smelly portacabin. Spooky. He left me to wander round and I found loads of interesting stuff, like Urch's secret garden.

Old stables with dusty saddles swinging in the breeze, ruined buildings and birds nesting in the roofs. An old animal transporter was lying in the field with plants growing in it.

This pic is in an old mechanics workshop. It looked like people had just downed tools and left it to the dust and elements. I kept hearing creaks and movements, and it was all a bit nerve tingling.

I did think about a Kamran-style portrait of the man, but as he was kind of a hermit, I thought it might be a bit invasive.

These sheep looked like they had taken over and were running the place and it reminded me of Animal Farm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.