ElectricFish

By ElectricFish

Only Allah is perfect

It’s been a good day, all in all. The weather was dreary, wet and miserable, traffic delays caused by road works and I was soaked to the skin. I went to cook steaks tonight and found I had defrosted mince. I was feeling as low as I have felt in a long time…….cooking The Last Supper for my son who left home tonight…..
I sat with my silversmith, Ed, this morning, and discussed my complex plan to make a silver spoon with twists and inset with opal. I changed my mind. It would be a simple gift of pure curved lines for a perfect little girl named Adara, a name with many meanings including Perfect Star so the only design would be a star on the handle. Ed had told me some time ago that Islamic artists leave a flaw somewhere in their work, so as not to offend Allah, the only perfect one. I believe I may be a favourite of Allah as my work is never perfect!! …but my work is made with my heart and always contains a piece of me….
Dinner went well. My son is gone. I am so happy for him. His freedom and independence is long overdue. I will feel better tomorrow. I know that and it gives me comfort. I like my own space and company at times so be careful what you wish for . To quote Scarlett O'Hara from Gone With The Wind “
“I can't think about that right now. If I do, I'll go crazy. I'll think about that tomorrow.”
and
“……… After all... tomorrow is another day”.

I had good news today. My lack of a brain hasn’t lost me my friend.
So all in all an excellent day….. just saying (in a happy upbeat way!!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.