M9

By M9

DOT-WINGED SEAGULL

Have you ever seen seagulls with polkadotted wing tips? When I first noticed these birds in a store parking lot, I thought they had white-dotted black tails, but after downloading my photos, I see instead that it’s their wings that are black tipped with white dots. Their wings are so massive that they extend beyond the tail when folded making it look like a tail with the dotted feature. (A seagull standing still is on Flickr to show the folded wings.) If these dotted wings are common, I have never seen them around here.

These seagulls swooped in to get a couple crumbs left on the pavement. In fact, there were so few crumbs that one gull bumped another, mid-air, to get to them first! It all happened so fast that I could barely get the picture let alone take time for camera adjustments, but at least this shows their unique wings.

Enjoy your weekend everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.