Still Rockin'

By RockArea

View from Ightam Mote

“We don’t open the windows!” came the voice in what sounded to me like a slightly school marmish tone. Too late, I’d got the shot I wanted.

This is Ightam Mote, a very attractive National Trust property which is quite near where we’re camped. We didn’t go to Brands Hatch for the practice sessions as it was persisting down with rain, so we thought we’d hang on for the proper racing tomorrow.

We decided to visit Leeds Castle this morning as I've seen so many lovely photos of it. I couldn't believe how much they wanted for entrance. Concession price for us was £18.50 each. Admittedly this gives you entrance for a year but of course this is not of much benefit if you don't live in the locality! What a silly way of doing things. I'm certainly not going to pay that on a wet day.

Our campsite is surrounded by lovely broadleaved trees and it’s a bit soggy after the rain. The warden selected a pitch for us with a bit of a hard base although it’s not actually a hard standing. It’s tucked away under the trees, which is fine but they’re oak trees and of course at this time of year they’re dropping their acorns which make quite a noise as they bounce off the roof of the campervan!

I’m sorry I’ve not been able to comment much or reply to your comments. Although the site does have relatively inexpensive wifi it doesn’t reach very well into our corner of the site. I'm on now and hoping for the best

I hope you’re enjoying your weekend.

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.