lilypad

By lilypad

Pre-Christmas mince pies

Mince pies were a food tradition that baffled me when I first moved to England some years ago. I could never grasp how people could make a sweet pie filled with mince! For me, mince was ground meat. Only later did some kind soul explain to me that mince pies were actually filled with a sweet fruit filled mixture - well worth eating at Christmas time.

Pink Whisk posted a lovely recipe for English mince pies on her blog a few years ago. That was about the time when I decided to try making them myself. It was probably the great photo on the blog that sold the recipe to me. Years later I am still baking my pies to that recipe and the crowds love them.

This year I have made at least five batches already and it is only October. Bly-me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.