Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A cup cake world record?

I have eaten more muffins in one weekend than than I’ve eaten in the last few years! JR is in a bake-off at work, an so has been practising!! I think they’re technically cup cakes, but hummingbird cake mixture. I also had a treat that I’ve not had since I was 12 or so - licking the bowl! Actually, I lie, I used to know people who owned a cafe, and I was allowed to ‘help’ them clean their baking bowls. That was in my 30s.

The new owners came round this afternoon and we had the excellent news that they’re not moving in on the same afternoon as we move out. This had us worried how we’d clean up as we moved out and shut the door at midday. Also, they’ll repaint and do things, so they’re not worried about the holes in the walls caused by dozens of paintings. We were a bit worried about this. They are very happy to be living in this flat.

We went down to the early evening movie - Captain Whatsit - using our Times+ code (2 for 1 every weekend) but the staff looked confused when I handed over the code, pressed lots of buttons, consulted lots of sheets of paper with barcodes, then declared it was not valid for this date. They were wrong - I’ve just checked now that I’m home. We’ll go tomorrow. Or next week. I did pop off an email to the cinema to let them know their mistake...

So we popped into a nearby hostelry for a drink to await the ‘blue hour’. I love taking photos at night, and have been anxious to try with this camera, as the ISO goes up quite high, so theoretically you can take them hand held. The hostelry was underground -that sounds quite risqué- but it doesn’t have windows, so in fact, I missed the ‘blue hour’…

But I took a few hurried photos while I waited for the bus. It was a bit of a rush job, because my bus came, and they’re not too frequent, so I jumped on it, resolving to try again (earlier) another night.

I’ve just had one more muffin/cup cake. Is this a world record?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.