PaulineW

By PaulineW

Dandelion lolly

A different take on the dandelion shot - we've had dandelion flowers, dandelion clocks and the lovely delicate flying seeds - now the dandelion lolly!

This is a technique I have seen on blipfoto a couple of times and I thought I'd give it a go. It entails freezing the flower in successive layers - starting with a very thin layer of ice onto which you place the flower (face down) then adding water in small amounts and repeatedly freezing it until the flower is almost covered. Then you need to light the flower in the ice from underneath, and I also used a separate flash to one side rather than an on-camera flash.

I don't think I have quite got it yet, but I will persevere - the only flower I had handy was the dandelion so I might try it with something a little more exotic next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.