NellyO

By NellyO

Greenery

I did a couple of hours at the allotment this morning, and I think I was quite productive. I harvested all of the remaining courgettes (as it's so much colder and there's less sun they're not going to get any bigger now), some more oriental leaves, and all of the remaining spinach beet, and also chopped down the quinoa - I'm not sure how that's going to go, I probably would have been better doing it last week when it was drier, I'm going to have to leave it to dry first before attempting to winnow it. I think I probably dropped as much as I harvested, so maybe we'll have a jungle of the stuff next year... I dug up what was left of the courgette and spinach beet plants as well as the quinoa, so the compost bin is now bursting at the seams. But the compost is what I'm particularly looking forward to, having had a bin before in a previous garden there's nothing quite like going back to it a year later and finding in place of all the manky food scraps and old leaves that beautiful crumbly compost!

This is the broccoli and brussels, coexisting happily and getting on with growing. A really homely and heartwarming sight :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.