Action Time Vision

By ATV

"Heid!!"

As it's September it's about beanie time once more.

Some peeps get away with wearing them year round without looking like they are trying to conceal male pattern baldness or about to break into your hoose but I only get away with it when it's kind of dull or cold.

The caps sometimes come out for the rain though to keep my spectaculars dry but I don't like them as much.

This is my favourite beanie. It's a nice shape and looks like almost like a black skull cap. Goes nicely with my grey locks and beard.

My Walkman just did it's spooky link thing by playing Big Star's Thirteen followed by Evan Dando's solo version of Different Drum off the back of the Shame About Ray single.

Dando covered Thirteen brilliantly during his 2002 solo tour which I caught at The Venue. This was "solo" in every sense - he walked in set up his mic and guitar and away he went for two hours with n'er a word between songs.

He's coming to Glasgow on 10th of the month and I'm going to try to be there all going well.

I will no doubt receive a visit from the Blipolis if I go into my theory as to why Dando is one of the greatest singer-songwriters of my generation.

I was doing a Lemonheads journo bit years ago and I suggested to him he cover a Sandie Shaw song once (Stop Feeling Sorry For Yourself). I was pleasantly suprised when he later wrote to me saying he was checking it out but I've yet to hear it.

You never know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.