Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Autumn in the Gardens

I cancelled bird watching today, so it was a bonus morning. I rang Uncle A to see if he’d like some muffins, but he declined, so I’ve had one for morning tea, one for lunch and one for afternoon tea. But they’re so full of fruit and nuts, they must be very good for me. Probably.

I haven’t been down town for ages, so set off for a wander. Princes Street Gardens are looking a wee bit autumny, but they’ll get better. I watched a group of kids feeding huge gulls, then the adult with them suddenly chucked her jacket at a gull to try to catch it. She saw me watching from the path above. I wandered down to where they were feeding, hoping to get a gull action shot. The gull in question had something very tight around its leg, and was limping. But they couldn’t catch it. And I didn’t get a good enough gull shot.

Waiting at the bus stop home was a lady I see often on the bus. She’s cognitively disabled - hope that’s the correct term. She always shouts out on the bus and says hello to everyone and wants to know their names. Some folk ignore her - embarrassed, I suppose.

As I came near, the bus stop was full - everyone sitting on the bench. Opposite them was Mary (not her real name). She had hiccups, and each time she did it, she yelled.
‘OH! EXCUSE ME! I MUST BE HUNGRY!’

This went on for quite some time, after every single hiccup, interspersed with,
GUESS WHAT I’M HAVING FOR TEA!’

I find it quite interesting that most folk were trying to ignore her lest she spoke to them. I suppose I was at an advantage, because I’ve seen her on the bus many times, and I’d probably do the same in another city if someone was shouting at me. I went and stood next to her to chat to her and keep her occupied.

She was first on the bus. I could hear her still shouting,
‘OH! EXCUSE ME! I MUST BE HUNGRY!’

When I got on, she patted the seat next to her, so I sat with her. She has incredible knowledge of all the recent murder trials, and reeled off names of victims and people who had murdered several women, hoping that they were in jail for life. I assured her they were.

I do worry about Mary. She’s out and about on her own, and any bad person could take advantage of her. And there but for the grace of God...

Anyway, getting a bit maudlin there... I do believe it’s Muffin Time again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.