New Day

By NewDay

grounded for 30 years

the front mast of this hunting boat is still aiming into cold waters of the Dvina, although it's been grounded for over 30 years. the guard (from whom, for what..) stopped me by the steps when i was looking around and invited aboard, he took a promise from me not to lean against anyhting. on my perfectly reasonable question if he was sure i could step safely on the deck, he reasured me that he would fetch me from the hold if i go through the deck no problem. but if i crash against the pavement after going through the guard rails, he would not be able to help me much. health & safety first! it was a cold day, and i was not really up for a chat, but Alexey the guard made me a cup of tea, invited into his tiny cabin and told a bit about the war and after the war (he was in his 70s) and how he sailed the sees and watched whales. it's was one of this bitter feelings you had in your other days... he walked by with me to the bottom step to say bye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.