SomethingAwful

By SomethingAwful

Epic Lads

A couple of days ago Sam sent me a facebook invitation to Photosoc's traditional 'disposable camera challenge' - they get everyone into teams, give each team a disposable camera and a list of tasks that they have to take a photo of, and embark on a pub crawl across Leamington. I can't remember why I wasn't there last year, no doubt a little drama I created in my head. Anyway, the point is, I told Sam there was no way I was going, but he pointed out that the journey isn't that far, and I had a job interview on Wednesday that I knew I wouldn't be hearing from for at least another week, so today, after my driving lesson and my gym session, I packed my back and texted Sam from the train to let him know I'd decided to come.

As it turned out, him and the boys (Adrien, Axel and Gavin - and I can't tell you how nice it was to see them all together again - although all with one exception, of course) were planning an 'epic meal' at Axel's (ours) before the crawl. So with perfect timing, I arrived on campus to a very surprised Gavin through Sam's kitchen window. Two reactions-that-I-was-hoping-for down, off to meet Adrien at the bus stop - who I hadn't seen since June 2012, mind you - and whom it was lovely to be able to greet as I had Gavin!
Even the bus ride brought back nostalgia.
And ringing the doorbell to Axel's flat... anyway, I was so happy when he answered the door! Not the expected nonchalance, but a 'holy shit!' and a hug. Nice to feel the love, I should turn up unannounced more often. ;)
Saw all the photosocers in his flat - it looks like they've got a good thing going this year. So many close friends living so close to each other, and always with something to do or a reason to hang out. I'm sure they have their dramas like every group, but as far as I could tell they are having a blast.

Axel had rearranged his (hazy) room but there was room for us all to sit and chat, and watch the boys get through a hamburger lasagna (as pictured).
After Axel and the other exec members left on duty, we lounged and then followed. First stop, Macdonald's for me - being a vegetarian, I couldn't partake in the bloodbath they had concocted! But the real first stop...

DUKE'S! Got in the cider straight away, said hi to those I recognised, and pounced on three unexpecting girls to force them to join our team. Turned out only one of them was actually there for Photosoc, the other two had come for a climbing social... but we twisted their arm! And they joined our team. The 'Social Climbers' - my idea. Ha!

Bear in mind that along the way on this crawl we were getting a bunch of tasks in. I won't relay all of them because it'd disrupt my flow. Obviously.

BENJI'S! Had a pleasant bump-in with a second year, and an unpleasant one with another. Nevermind! Got more chatter flowing. Nice to see Mikha'el, even in women's clothing.
Along the way to Robbin's we bumped into three men who said they'd just completed the piggyback task with another group, but I informed them that we didn't mind, and just to mix things up a bit, I suggested that I give one of them a piggy back instead of the other way round. He warned me that he weighed 80k and I wouldn't hack it... but of course I did. Thighs of steel, baby! (Yes I recently had my first gym sesh at Virgin Active. ;) )

ROBBIN'S! Lovely. Bumped into Hattie in the loos! Pleasant surprise to be seeing so many familiar faces along the way on this very brief visit. Sam and I stepped outside for a heart to heart at one point and thought we'd lost the others we were out there so long. But we caught up with them, and before leaving I had another heart to heart I'd been meaning to have for a while. Glad I did.

KELSEEEEEEEY'S!!!!! Jack, who'd agreed to come out tonight, was at the bar when we arrived. Another excited hello, a drink or two, then outside for a much-needed chat, and yet another one in the loos a bit later on. Glad I did, again. Lots of photos in the basement, obviously involving elimination and the likes, as well as more catching up.... and then, to finish the night off, Altoria. At this point my memory serves me not so well. I was informed by Sam the next day that I was being very annoying and refusing to leave. But when we finally did we brought the party back to Axel's to say goodbye. Just how it should have been.

Well done, Photosoc.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.