Julian Nicholas

This is incredible sax player, composer, arranger, producer etc Julian Nicholas, when I lived in Brighton (age 14-24) from the age of 20-26 we were very close friends and played alot of jazz together, we lived very close and I spent a lot of time at his flat, he always had lots of interesting people over and always made me feel welcome, he has a gorgeous daughter called Rosebud who was about 4 when we met and I spent a lot of time with her as well, a very special child who I wrote a song for, she is 27 now and recently we reconnected on facebook and she says she still remembers the song which urged her never to lose her smile, I was very touched.
For no particular reason we were out of touch for many years but this year he approached me about recording some jazz toegther, I am so enjoying the whole process and it is just wonderful to see my friend again, today we were laughing about all sorts of things we had both forgotten...
I spent the day in Ovingdean at Chris Phillips wonderful studio with him and engineer Chris (another Chris) recording SMILE, Chris' Grandfather wrote the song with Charlie Chaplin, more info here from my last visit.

I got home at 9 to find Gulli not feeling weell and needing cuddles, I think he is ok, just feels a bit sick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.