the sunrise hour

By kittyhawk

The Door To Imagination...

I've painted an abstract door on the front cover of the sketchbook my nana bought me, because I thought opening a sketchbook is kind of like opening a door to the artist's imagination. When I handed in the portraits I had drawn at home to my GCSE Art teacher a while back, it felt a bit strange. I drew those portraits because I liked them and I wanted to, and there was some meaning behind some of them, so they were quite personal. I am guessing this sketchbook it going to be similar.

(I used a painting from Jean Haines' watercolour book for reference. I was originally going to do this in watercolour but the water soaked straight into the cardboard. Acrylic was also pretty difficult since I couldn't use a lot of water, but hopefully it looks okay)

Good things about today
My friend gave me a lift home from college, so I got home a bit earlier
I had a big bottle of orange juice
My EPQ teacher gave us cookies
Dad did the washing up for me
I got 100% on my maths homework and 91% on my test
Mum's lesson observation went well (she had been working really hard for it)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.