Max & Carlo

Max (Left) and Carlo are my two boy cats. Every night when I lie down in bed, Carlo settles down on my chest. Seconds later, Max approaches at left and snuggles up against Carlo. They lick each other's ears and faces and collect pets & scratches from me. We're three bosom buddies.

Max is a bit people-shy because he's a former feral kitten. Carlo's an affection demon.

Max is seven years old now, and Carlo is eight.

These two are not related, although they both had siblings when I met them.

Max has jet black, somewhat coarse fur. Carlo's shorter, finer fur is chestnut brown. Because they're both essentially all-black, both have dark grey skin, lips, and noses, (unlike most cats, whose trim color is pink).

Max was born in an alley to a stray Mom. Carlo has never missed a meal.

Max has the body type of a European wildcat, but Carlo is of the Asiatic type, as you'll see painted in Egyptian tombs. They stand, sit, and walk very differently. Max weighs about nineteen pounds --stronger and a few pounds heavier than his best friend.

If the room is dark, and all I can see is a cat's eyes, I know Max by his rounded gaze and Carlo by his lazy lids. Max stares straight at the camera's flash, but Carlo shuts his eyes.

To take this picture, I had to reach behind my head as far as I could. Their noses are about six inches from mine. Usually I get a picture from the side.

Both Max & Carlo are solid advocates of same-sex marriage, and I think I know why: They're in love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.