Ralph's Rock

Indian Head Swimmers

stripped down to skivvies
all freckles and splash
rascal ralph curls ten toes
new england granite catapulting
cannonballs of cousins
leaping swingers of limbs
summer's secret swimmers
then scurry on home
dripping cowlicks dry by dinner


A glorious New England morning, the last perhaps of our warm and fantastic October days. Rain and cool temperatures are in the mix for the rest of the week. I brought my little Leica along and took some shots on the way home from the train. These wild Tom Turkeys were watching their hens in a front yard near the street. We had eight turkeys in our yard on Sunday. I moved on from turkeys to the Indian Head River where my dad dunked and dove with his cousins as a child. Well away from his mother's watchful eye, he told me, heading home only after his hair was dry. The light was still glorious when I got home and turned to look at my favorite maple, fast dropping the flaming color before going in for another cup of coffee.

Dad, I miss you.

For the Record,
This day came in cool and fantastic with temps supposed to reach 70 degrees F.

All hands are healthy

An embrace for Sparks, Nevada, yet another unthinkable sorrow surrounds them and our nation today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.