my name is not Liz Imbrie

By LizImbrie

Introducing.... Liz Imbrie Junior!!

It’s safe to say, today wasn’t one of your usual sort of days. Today was the day of our 12 week scan and the day that we could start telling everyone that, all going well, we’ll have a baby in about 6 months time! (26th April next year apparently) The scan was a huge relief because, I’ve barely had any symptoms over the past couple months aside from a couple migraines and feeling a bit tired. I should’ve been thanking my lucky stars, instead I was fretting that I had made the whole thing up!
So, fortunately, the scan was early - 10.20 - so we didn’t have ages to wait around. We could see immediately that everything in there was as it should be i.e. nice strong heartbeat etc but, obviously taking after it’s dad, it was quite uncooperative and refused to lie in the right position so that the sonographer could measure it etc. So much so that I was instructed to got for a 15 minute walk, eat something sweet and jiggle about to “annoy the baby”!

Just as it was the first place we went after we got married, the first place to visit after the scan was the Blue Blazer.
Then, from the Blazer, we went to our table booked at The Honours to celebrate. I’m getting used to not drinking but I’m still having to adjust to not being allowed certain items on the menu… The good thing about going somewhere as reliable as the Honours is that there’s not a dud dish to choose from.
The rest of the day was spent telling people on the phone and in person about our news. Hanging out with R, D and baby N was particularly fun. It was a great day to wander round and bump into people that we hadn’t seen for ages too. Very convenient if anything.

Not telling people has been harder than I thought it would be, especially when you’re writing every day down on here! I desperately wanted to share with you when we took the test on the morning of our housewarming and when we’d had our first midwife appointment and told our folks. Even this is being written on the Wednesday but deliberately being kept back until I’ve had a chance to tell as many folks in person as I can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.